Traces of Touch

serendipity into the oblivion

Box generator

with 13 comments

For my final outcome Im going to be in the need of a whole bunch of small boxes in different sizes. Normally I would attack this with Sketchup and draw each of them out but since I might need 10+ boxes that would take to much time. So I sat down and wrote together an application that I have been thinking of doing for 1,5 years. A box generator that creates all the tabs with the correct material thickness and so on. If you want to try it out it can be found at here. Be aware though that it hasn’t been tested in real life yet with a laser but as it is now it seems to fit when putting the pieces together in Illustrator…

* Update* I have now cut 10+ boxes and it works nicely with different kinds of material and sizes. I need to add a press fit option but that will be a later addon. Now I will just stick to superglue and woodglue.

Written by sjunnesson

August 21, 2010 at 14:56

Posted in prototyping

Tagged with , , ,

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It would be nice to specify which operating system is required for your program. Not everyone uses Microsoft Windows.

    Eh

    August 31, 2010 at 09:01

    • I know that. Thats why I supply both processing source code, win, mac osx and linux application to fit everyones need…

      sjunnesson

      August 31, 2010 at 10:40

  2. This is so awesome. Thank you.

    Jaymes Dec

    November 13, 2010 at 17:27

    • Thanks for the nice comment. I hope the tool proofs useful for you.

      sjunnesson

      November 13, 2010 at 17:49

  3. Bravo! Thanks for this.

    I’m sorry that you decided to create something and then SHARE it and the first comment you got was someone complaining about it (likely because they couldn’t figure out how to decompress a *.rar file from whatever operating system they were using). Please ignore the first commenter and accept my appreciation instead.

    Greg Tarlin

    January 10, 2011 at 06:17

  4. Thanks for writing this in Processing!

    andrew.from.pretoria

    January 28, 2011 at 08:14

  5. This is a program that I have been thinking about writting ever since I got my laser cutter… I stumbled across this a couple of days ago and I was very excited to try it out. I’m working through the get Java etc., but wanted to ask what the output of the program was??? Do you create dxf files of the geometry that I can then put into whatever program I need?

    Anyway, I agree with Greg in expressing my appreication!

    Thanks!

    Eric Warner

    January 31, 2011 at 19:15

    • Thx for the nice comment. Always motivates yourself when you get some feedback to your work. The output is in pdf format. Since you can easily import pdf to both illustrator and inkscape and it is really easy to export it from processing I choose that.

      sjunnesson

      January 31, 2011 at 20:21

      • Thanks for the quick reply! I am still trying to get the time to do the Java install. I was wondering what it would take to get the output to a dxf format? I do not have processing installed and I do most of my programming in VB (I’ve done FORTRAN, PASCAL, DCL, Unix scripting and a touch of C as well). I am a mechanical engineer, not a programmer so picking up a new language is not on my list of things to do this week… If you thought it might be easy enough to do I might load the processing environment and take a look. Let me know what you think, or if it was something you were planning on doing :). I’m not familiar with the pdf format internally so I don’t know what the output looks like and if it would be applicable to a dxf style output.

        Thanks again!

        Eric Warner

        January 31, 2011 at 21:15

        • not sure how complex it would be. But the processing environment is really easy to get going and I recommend it for you to try it out. Currently I have no time to check out the dxf format but might do it in the future if the schedule clears up a bit and there is a demand for it.

          sjunnesson

          January 31, 2011 at 23:22

  6. [...] First, one gentleman has written an program for auto-generating box designs to be laser cut. You can download that program and view his results. [...]

  7. Thanks for this great script and even more for sharing it!
    We’ve already used it and it works perfectly!
    I’ve posted the results on our blog (http://3guys1laser.com/) and linked to this page and to davidsjunnesson.com, hope thats okay for you.

    Robert Pospichal

    December 11, 2011 at 20:53

  8. I do trust all of the ideas you’ve presented in your post. They’re very convincing and can certainly work. Nonetheless, the posts are very short for beginners. May just you please lengthen them a bit from next time? Thanks for the post. gdadeekbfcbc

    Johnc201

    August 15, 2014 at 10:44


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

